Browsing all articles tagged with carbon nanotube
janv.
1

(English) X-ray sources based on carbon nanotube cold cathodes

Author Rémi Longtin    Category Publications     Tags ,

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Américain.

janv.
19

Symposium « Carbon Nanotubes and Graphene »

EUROMAT2011Un symposium « Carbon Nanotubes and Graphene » sera organisé dans le cadre de EUROMAT2011 à Montpellier en France du 12 au 15 septembre 2011. Ce symposium se concentrera principalement sur les progrès et les sujets d’actualité liés à la production et la transformation à grande échelle, les applications et les questions industrielles. Ceci comprend en particulier :

  • Synthèse et méthodes de sélection
  • Propriétés électroniques, optiques et mécanique des nanotubes de carbone, du graphène et des dispositifs connexes
  • Fonctionnalisation, dispersion, transformation
  • Métrologie et la normalisation
  • Science des matériaux et composites
  • Autres applications et questions industrielles
nov.
16

Intégration de nanotubes de carbone sur plaquettes CMOS

nanotubes sur CMOSLes nanotubes de carbone – comme d’autres matériaux nanostructurés – ont une sensibilité élevée pour un grand nombre de gaz et de vapeurs. Cette propriété est recherchée dans des domaines aussi divers que la surveillance de processus dans l’industrie, la surveillance de l’environnement, l’agriculture, la sécurité personnelle, la médecine ou les équipements de sécurité. Les capteurs de gaz fonctionnent souvent en détectant les changements subtils de conduction électrique sur une surface où des molécules de gaz se déposent. Un avantage que les nanotubes de carbone offrent en tant que détecteur de gaz comparativement aux détecteurs à base de matériaux d’oxyde métallique est leur temps de réponse rapide et le fait qu’ils réagissent avec les gaz à de faibles températures, parfois même à température ambiante.

Dans une application prometteuse, des chercheurs ont démontré la détection de certaines molécules odorantes avec une haute résolution en utilisant un capteur basé sur un nanotube de carbone fonctionnalisé. Bien que les possibilités de capteurs de gaz à base de nanotubes de carbone soient énormes, le problème réside dans les technologies de fabrication, plus précisément le manque de technologie pour la fabrication par lots.

read more

avril
7

Une enzyme du sang permet la désagregation des nanotubes

nanotube toxicityUne étude sur les nanotubes de carbone financée par l’Union Européenne et réalisée par des scientifiques de l’Irlande, la Suède et des États-Unis a montré que ces molécules extrêmement solides peuvent être décomposées en carbone et en eau par une enzyme présente dans les globules blancs. La découverte, publiée dans la revue Nature Nanotechnology, offre l’espoir que ce nouveau matériau puisse être exploité en toute sécurité dans la médecine et l’industrie.

Les conclusions sont l’un des résultats du programme NANOMMUNE (‘Evaluation complète des effets dangereux des nanomatériaux sur le système immunitaire’), financé par le thème NMP (‘Nanosciences, nanotechnologies, matériaux et nouvelles technologies’) du septième programme cadre de l’UE (7e PC).

read more

mars
9

Ondes thermoélectriques propulsées par réaction chimique

nanotube conducting heatUne équipe de scientifiques du MIT a découvert un phénomène précédemment inconnu qui permet de transporter de puissantes vagues d’énergie le long des nanotubes de carbone. Cette découverte pourrait conduire à une nouvelle façon de produire de l’électricité, disent les chercheurs.

Le phénomène, décrit comme une onde thermoélectrique, « ouvre un nouveau domaine de recherche sur l’énergie, ce qui est rare », dit Michael Strano, auteur principal d’un article décrivant cette nouvelle découverte dans la revue Nature Materials. L’auteur principal est Wonjoon Choi, étudiant au doctorat en génie mécanique.

Un nanotube de carbone (voir illustration réalisée par Christine Daniloff) peut produire très rapidement une vague de puissance quand il est recouvert par une couche de carburant et allumé, de sorte que la chaleur se déplace le long du tube. Comme une collection d’épaves propulsé sur la surface de l’océan par des ondes progressives, il s’avère qu’une onde thermique voyageant le long d’un fil microscopique peut transporter les électrons, créant ainsi un courant électrique.

read more

mars
3

Traitement de l’eau avec des capsules recyclables utilisant les nanotubes de carbone

image TEM d'une structure coeur-capsule (Image: Dr. Choi, KBSI)

image TEM d'une structure cœur-capsule (Image: Dr. Choi, KBSI)

De nombreux nanomatériaux sont à divers stades de la recherche et développement, chacun possédant des fonctionnalités uniques qui sont potentiellement applicables à l’assainissement des eaux usées industrielles, des eaux souterraines, des eaux de surface et de l’eau potable. L’objectif principal pour la plupart de ces recherches est de développer, à faible coût, des matériaux écologiques pour l’élimination des métaux lourds dans l’eau.

L’eau potable ou souterraine peut être contaminée par des ions de métaux lourds tels que le plomb, le chrome, et l’arsenic rejetés par les eaux usées industrielles. Ces ions de métaux lourds sont considérés comme des polluants hautement toxiques car ils peuvent causer un large éventail de problèmes de santé en cas d’accumulation à long terme dans l’organisme.

read more

févr.
17

Conférence internationale NT10

Bannière

Objectifs de la conférence NT10

La structure quasi uni-dimensionnelle des nanotubes confère à cette classe de matériaux de nombreuses propriétés fascinantes ouvrant de nouvelles voies à la fois en recherche fondamentale qu’en recherche appliquée. Depuis plus de dix ans, cette conférence réunit les meilleurs scientifiques pour dresser un bilan et définir les tendances futures dans le domaine passionnant de la science des nanotubes.

Les sujets suscitant une attention particulière sont:

  • Propriétés mécaniques des nanotubes et des matériaux composites
  • Propriétés électroniques des nanotubes et de dispositifs électroniques à base de nanotubes
  • Caractérisation optique et propriétés optiques
  • Progrès dans la synthèse
  • Purification et séparation des nanotubes
  • Procédés et modifications chimiques
  • Applications des nanotubes

Du 27 juin au 2 juillet 2010 à Montréal (Canada)
Site web officiel : NT10
read more

mars
31

Production de nanotubes

Author Frédéric Larouche    Category Nanotubes     Tags

Que sont les nanotubes de carbone?

Figure 1 : Structure géométrique des nanotubes

Figure 1 : Structure géométrique des nanotubes

La découverte des nanotubes de carbone en 1991, par le japonais Sumio Iijima, lors de l’étude de la synthèse des fullerènes (C60) a permis de mettre à jour une nouvelle forme cristalline du carbone (allotrope). Ces structures cylindriques de carbone qui consistent en un enroulement de plans graphitiques, avec un rayon de courbure nanométrique (10-9 mètre = 1 nanomètre), se divisent en deux catégories : les nanotubes mono-parois (C-SWNT) et les nanotubes multi-parois (C-MWNT).

Figure 2 : SWCNT et MWCNT schématiques

Figure 2 : SWCNT et MWCNT schématiques

read more

juil.
16

Stockage de l’hydrogène

Introduction

Le parc automobile contribue fortement à la détérioration de la qualité de l’air dans les grandes villes. L’utilisation de l’hydrogène comme carburant est intéressante car sa combustion ne libère, en principe, aucun polluant. De plus, le contenu énergétique de l’hydrogène est élevé. Toutefois, quelques obstacles demeurent, dont le stockage de ce gaz faiblement compressible.

Figure 1 : Voiture fonctionnant à l'hydrogène développée par BMW

Figure 1 : Voiture fonctionnant à l'hydrogène

Solutions de stockage pour l’hydrogène

Le Département de l’énergie des États-Unis (DOE) a fixé deux critères d’évaluation pour les technologies de stockage de l’hydrogène appliquées au domaine du transport automobile. Le premier critère limite la masse du réservoir en exigeant que le rapport entre la masse d’hydrogène stocké et la masse totale du réservoir soit supérieur à 0,065 (6,5% massique). Le second critère impose une taille maximale pour le réservoir : la densité volumétrique du système doit être supérieure à 62 kg/m.

Les principales voies explorées pour résoudre le problème du stockage sont au nombre de quatre :

  • Compression ou liquéfaction de l’hydrogène
  • Hydrures métalliques
  • Réservoirs chimiques
  • Matériaux adsorbants

read more

Advertisements

Browsing all articles tagged with carbon nanotube Archives | nanotechnologies.qc.ca
Jan
1

X-ray sources based on carbon nanotube cold cathodes

Author Rémi Longtin    Category Publications     Tags ,

Scientists at the Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology in Zurich, Switzerland, have built a functional X-ray tube using carbon nanotubes as electron sources. Carbon nanotube electron field-emission is well known effect and has been studied since the mid 1990s. Since then, several X-ray sources have been described in the scientific and technical literature.

read more

Jan
19

“Carbon Nanotubes and Graphene” Symposium

EUROMAT2011A Symposium “Carbon Nanotubes and Graphene” will be organized at EUROMAT2011 in Montpellier (France), 12-15 September 2011. The symposium will especially focus on progress and hot topics related to large scale production/processing, applications and industrial issues. This specifically includes:

  • Synthesis and selection methods
  • Electronic, optical and mechanical properties of carbon nanotubes, graphene and related devices
  • Functionnalization, dispersion, processing
  • Metrology and standardization
  • Composites and materials science
  • Other applications and industrial issues
Nov
16

Integration of carbon nanotubes on CMOS wafers

CNT on CMOSCarbon nanotubes (CNT) – like other nanostructured materials – have high sensitivity to a large number of different gases and vapours which are important in areas as diverse as process monitoring in industry, environmental monitoring, agriculture, personal safety, medicine, or security screening. Gas sensors often operate by detecting the subtle changes that deposited gas molecules make in the way electricity moves through a surface layer. One advantage that carbon nanotubes offer for gas sensors, compared to metal oxide materials, is their fast response time and the fact that they react with gases at lower temperatures, sometimes even as low as room temperature.

In one promising application, researchers demonstrated the detection of specific odorous molecules with high resolution using a functionalized carbon nanotube based sensor. While the possibilities for CNT-based gas sensors are huge, the problem lies with the fabrication technologies, more specifically with a lack of technology for batch fabrication.

read more

Apr
7

Enzyme in white blood cells can break down carbon nanotubes

nanotube toxicityAn EU-funded study of carbon nanotubes by scientists in Ireland, Sweden and the US has shown that these extraordinarily strong molecules can be broken down into carbon and water by an enzyme found in white blood cells. The discovery, published in the journal Nature Nanotechnology, offers hope that this new material may be exploited safely in medicine and industry.

The findings are an outcome of the NANOMMUNE (‘Comprehensive assessment of hazardous effects of engineered nanomaterials on the immune system’) project, financed under the NMP (‘Nanosciences, nanotechnologies, materials and new production’) theme of the EU’s Seventh Framework Programme (FP7).

read more

Mar
9

Chemically driven thermopower waves

nanotube conducting heatA team of scientists at MIT have discovered a previously unknown phenomenon that can cause powerful waves of energy to shoot through minuscule wires known as carbon nanotubes. The discovery could lead to a new way of producing electricity, the researchers say.

The phenomenon, described as thermopower waves, “opens up a new area of energy research, which is rare,” says Michael Strano, who was the senior author of a paper describing the new findings that appeared in Nature Materials. The lead author was Wonjoon Choi, a doctoral student in mechanical engineering.

A carbon nanotube (shown in the illustration made by Christine Daniloff) can produce a very rapid wave of power when it is coated by a layer of fuel and ignited, so that heat travels along the tube. Like a collection of flotsam propelled along the surface by waves travelling across the ocean, it turns out that a thermal wave — a moving pulse of heat — travelling along a microscopic wire can drive electrons along, creating an electrical current.

read more

Mar
3

Smart capsules for water treatment with recyclable carbon nanotube cores

TEM image of the CNT core-in-hematite shell structures. (Image: Dr. Choi, KBSI)

TEM image of the CNT core-in-hematite shell structures. (Image: Dr. Choi, KBSI)

Numerous nanomaterials are in various stages of research and development, each possessing unique functionalities that are potentially applicable to the remediation of industrial wastewater, groundwater, surface water and drinking water. The main goal for most of this research is to develop low-cost and environmentally friendly materials for removal of heavy metals from water.

Drinking or ground water could be contaminated by heavy metal ions such as lead, chromium, and arsen discarded from industrial waste water. These heavy metal ions are regarded as highly toxic pollutants which could cause a wide range of health problem in case of a long-term accumulation in the body.

read more

Feb
17

NT10 international conference

Header

Conference Scope

Carbon nanotubes have many fascinating properties, owing to their quasi one-dimensional structure. This creates a wide range of issues for fundamental research, as well as a wealth of opportunities for technological application. Progress in the field over the past few years has been remarkable, and applications for this unique material are starting to make the move from the laboratory into the mainstream. In the tradition of the NT conference series, this meeting will bring leading researchers in the area of nanotube science and technology together to evaluate the current state of the art and to identify current trends. The conference will encompass the frontiers of fundamental science as well as applied research, and will enable and encourage participants to exchange their latest ideas and results.

Topics receiving special attention include:

  • Mechanical properties of nanotubes and nanotube-based composites
  • Electronic properties of nanotubes and nanotube-based electronic devices
  • Optical characterization and optical properties
  • Progress in synthesis
  • Purification and sorting of nanotubes
  • Chemical processing and modification of nanotubes
  • Applications for nanotubes

From June 27 to July 2, 2010 in Montreal (Canada)
Official website: NT10
read more

Feb
16

Webinar: Raman Spectroscopy as a Characterization Tool

Raman spectroscopy

An educational webinar from Materials Today is coming soon:

  • Topic: Introduction to Raman Spectroscopy as a Characterization Tool for Graphene and Carbon Nanostructures
  • When: Tuesday March 9th, 2010
  • Time: 16h00 GMT, 11h00 EST
  • Duration: 1 hour

Registration is free. Simply, follow this link to reserve your place.

read more

Mar
31

Nanotube production

Author Frédéric Larouche    Category Nanotubes     Tags

What are carbon nanotubes?

Structure of carbon nanotubes

Figure 1: Geometric structure of nanotubes

The discovery of carbon nanotubes in 1991, by the japanese researcher Sumio Iijima, during the study of fullerenes (C60) synthesis reveals a new cristalline form of carbon. These cylindric structures of carbon consist of a graphitic plane rolled into a tube having a nanometric diameter (10-9 meter = 1 nanometer) and can be divided in two groups: single wall carbon nanotubes (C-SWNT) and multi-walls carbon nanotubes (C-MWNT).

Figure 2: Schematic of C-SWNT and C-MWNT

Figure 2: Schematic of C-SWNT and C-MWNT

read more

Jul
16

Hydrogen storage

Introduction

The automobile fleet is contributing significantly to air quality degradation in large cities. The use of hydrogen as a fuel is interesting since combustion delivers a lot of energy without polluting. However, some obstacles, like the efficient storage of this gas, remain before it can be implemented in the transportation industry.

Figure 1: Hydrogen powered car built by BMW

Figure 1: Hydrogen powered car built by BMW

Hydrogen storage solutions

The United States Department of energy (DOE) has fixed two targets for hydrogen storage solutions applied to automotive transportation. The first target requires a ratio of hydrogen weight / tank weight that is superior to 0,065 (6,5% weight). This target limits the weight of the tank. The second target requires a hydrogen volumetric density higher than 62 kg/m in order to limit the volume of the tank.

Four main solutions were proposed to solve this problem:

  • Compression or liquefaction of hydrogen
  • Metal hydrides
  • Chemical tanks
  • Adsorbent materials

read more

Advertisements